What is Formula E

Formula E is a new form of motor racing for electric racing cars. The new formula is backed by the FIA with initial season be held over 10 races starting in Beijing China and finishing in London in June 2015. With the backing high profile Hollywood actors and a social media aspect to support your favourite driver, the new formula is sure to create a buzz!

Formula E Racing

The races are held over a 1 hour duration at 10 road circuits around the World. Each team has 2 drivers that will feature in the race for approximately 30 minutes each. The batteries supplied by Williams F1 team will provide 30 minutes of racing so drivers will swap with their team mate half way through the race. The introduction of social media with ‘fanboost’ is interesting concept with the three most popular drivers on social media receiving an increase of power during the race.


How fast are Formula E cars

Although not as fast as an F1 car they are capable of reaching 150 MPH. There’s been a lot of talk about the disappointing noise of the latest F1 cars, so it will be interesting to here the reaction of fans to these cars that are only 10 decibels louder than the average road car.

Teams and Drivers

There are 10 teams of 2 drivers in the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship season. Each team will drive the Spark-Renault SRT 01 E Formula E cars. Each team has 4 cars 2 for each driver. The cars and teams will all be based at a purpose built work workshop at Donington Park. The second season of Formula E will give the teams more freedom to develop their own cars subject to FIA specification This should lead to greater innovation and allow the teams to showcase the latest in electric motoring.

There are a number of ex Formula 1 drivers appearing in the Formula E championship including; Jarno Trulli driving for Trulli, Nick Heidfeld driving for Venturi, Jaime Alguersuari driving for Virgin Racing, Bruno Senna and Karun Chandhok both driving for the Mahindra Team, Sébastien Buemi driving for E.Dams-Renault, Charles Pic in team Amlin and Takuma Sato. In fact there’s so many drivers I think we should create a new site ExitF1.com!

Formula E Backing

As well as the FIA there have are a number of high profile supporters of the new racing. Alejandro Agag took responsibility of the project following an idea from FIA president Jean Todt. Leonardo DiCaprio is involved with Venturi and Richard Branson is backing the Virgin Racing team. Team owners include ex Formula 1 World Champions Alain Prost and Jay Penske well known for his involvement in Motor racing in the US.

Formula E Calendar

Round 1
Location Beijing, China
Date – 13 September 2014

Round 2
Location Putrajaya, Malaysia
Date – 22 November 2014

Round 3
Location Punta del Este, Uruguay
Date – 13 December 2014

Round 4
Location Buenos Aires, Argentina
Date – 10 January 2015

Round 5
Location to be announced
Date – 14 February 2015

Round 6
Location Miami, USA
Date – 14 March 2015

Round 7
Location Long Beach, USA
Date – 04 April 2015

Round 8
Location Monte Carlo, Monaco
Date – 09 May 2015

Round 9
Location Berlin, Germany
Date – 30 May 2015

Round 10
Location London, United Kingdom
Date -27 June 2015

London Formula E Circuit

The British Formula E race is likely to be held on roads around Battersea Park although this is yet to be confirmed by Wandsworth Borough Council.

The Formula E Crash in Beijing

The first Formula E race in Beijing quite literally got off to a flying start with a dramatic crash between Nicolas Prost and Nick Heidfeld. Fortunately neither driver was hurt but it couldn’t have been a better finish to the race for the promoters who saw an increase in media attention.

Post a comment