There may still be 3 months to go until the next Formula 1 season kicks off in Melbourne, but British F1 fans can now find out what races will be shown on terrestrial television for the first time.

The BBC has announced a list of nine races it will be showing live in 2014, with the other 10 races making up the calendar to be shown as extended highlights.

The live races are as follows:

  • Malaysia – 30 March
  • Spain – 11 May
  • Canada – 8 June
  • Silverstone – 6 July
  • Belgium – 24 August
  • Italy – 7 Sept
  • Japan – 5 Oct
  • Russia – 12 Oct
  • Abu Dhabi – 23 Nov

So once again the BBC will be showing the British Grand Prix live. It’s a shame they won’t have the season opener in Melbourne but then you could say that about all the races they are unable to show live!

Interest in F1 on the BBC actually increased in 2013 compared to 2012 with 27.8 million viewers catching some action, some 1.2 million up on the previous year.

For full times of each individual F1 session appearing on the BBC channels (TV and Radio), be sure to check out the F1 on the BBC page which updates throughout the year.

Post a comment